Sunday, September 8, 2013

How did your NYC Councilor Vote on the Term-Limits Referendum Bill?

How 2013 candidates voted on 2008 amendment to allow voters to vote on term limit law [Disinformation alert: scroll to postscript section on how Eliot Spitzer's blaming Scott Stringer is a mistruth.]

New York City Councilors that voted against the amendment, October 23, 2008, calling for a public referendum on the New York City elected officials limit of two terms, 28 no, 22 yes, 1 abstaining:
(Compare this list below of 2013 candidates for mayor, public advocate and borough president.)

Maria del Carmen Arroyo
Maria Baez
Helen D. Foster
G. Oliver Koppell
Joel Rivera
Larry B. Seabrook
James Vacca

Erik Martin Dilan
Sara M. Gonzalez
Darlene Mealy
Michael C. Nelson
Domenic M. Recchia Jr.
Diana Reyna
Kendall Stewart
Albert Vann

Inez E. Dickens
Robert Jackson
Jessica S. Lappin
Miguel Martinez
Christine Quinn

Leroy G. Comrie Jr.
Melinda R. Katz
Helen Sears
Peter F. Vallone Jr.
Thomas White Jr.

Staten Island

The New York Times reported,
Most experts agreed that the Council had the legal authority to amend the City Charter and override a law created by a referendum, but opponents said lawmakers had no moral right to do so.
Brooklyn Councilors DeBlasio and James went to court, arguing that it was a conflict of interest for council members to extend their own terms.
Source: Sewell Chan and Jonathan Hicks, New York Times, October 23, 2008. Their court effort was unsuccessful; but a 2010 referendum institutionalized a term limit.

2013 candidates for borough president, from above council:
Gale Brewer (Manhattan)*
Robert Jackson (Manhattan)
Jessica S. Lappin (Manhattan)
Melinda R. Katz (Queens)
Peter F. Vallone Jr. (Queens)

2013 candidates for mayor, from above council:
Bill deBlasio
John Liu
Christine Quinn

2013 candidate for public advocate from above council:
Letitia James

Postscript: In the recent weeks of NYC comptroller race advertisements, disgraced former governor and attorney general Eliot Spitzer has been trying to blame Scott Stringer for Bloomberg's third term as mayor. The argument is a particularly tenuous and weak one because Spitzer WASN'T EVEN ON the city council in 2008, when the third term vote went down. See this vote tally from the New York Times, "Council Votes, 29 to 22, to Extend Term Limits":
Roll Call, 4:35 p.m., on Introduction 845-A, to extend term limits for New York City elected officials to three terms from two:

29 yes, 22 no.

Joseph P. Addabbo Jr. of Queens, no; Maria del Carmen Arroyo of the Bronx, yes; Tony Avella of Queens, no; Maria Baez of the Bronx, yes; Charles Barron of Brooklyn, no; Gale A. Brewer of Manhattan, no; Anthony Como of Queens, no; Leroy G. Comrie Jr. of Queens, yes; Bill de Blasio of Brooklyn, no; Inez E. Dickens of Manhattan, yes; Erik Martin Dilan of Brooklyn, yes; Mathieu Eugene of Brooklyn, no; Simcha Felder of Brooklyn, yes; Lewis A. Fidler of Brooklyn, yes; Helen D. Foster of the Bronx, yes; Daniel R. Garodnick of Manhattan, no; James F. Gennaro of Queens, no; Vincent J. Gentile of Brooklyn, no; Alan J. Gerson of Manhattan, yes; Eric N. Gioia of Queens, no; Sara M. Gonzalez of Brooklyn, yes; Vincent M. Ignizio of Staten Island, no; Robert Jackson of Manhattan, yes; Letitia James of Brooklyn, no; Melinda R. Katz of Queens, yes; G. Oliver Koppell of the Bronx, yes; Jessica S. Lappin of Manhattan, no; John C. Liu of Queens, no; Melissa Mark-Viverito of Manhattan, no; Miguel Martinez of Manhattan, yes; Michael E. McMahon of Staten Island, no; Darlene Mealy of Brooklyn, yes; Rosie Mendez of Manhattan, no; Hiram Monserrate of Queens, no; Michael C. Nelson of Brooklyn, yes; James S. Oddo of Staten Island, no; Annabel Palma of the Bronx, no; Christine C. Quinn of Manhattan; yes; Domenic M. Recchia Jr. of Brooklyn, yes; Diana Reyna of Brooklyn, yes; Joel Rivera of the Bronx, yes; James Sanders Jr. of Queens, yes; Larry B. Seabrook of the Bronx, yes; Helen Sears of Queens, yes; Kendall Stewart of Brooklyn, yes; James Vacca of the Bronx, yes; Peter F. Vallone Jr. of Queens, yes; Albert Vann of Brooklyn, yes; David I. Weprin of Queens, no; Thomas White Jr. of Queens, yes; David Yassky of Brooklyn, yes.